Vinyl Lp: Herbie Hancock - Takin´ Off (sold out)  



Herbiehancocktakinoff: click to enlarge Herbiehancocktakinoff: click to enlarge

PDF Productinfo [pdf, 89 KB]       

Audiophile pressing:  


• 180 gr. virgin vinyl  

• Direct from analogue master-tape  

• Limited edition  

• Original cover-art  

• Made in USA  


1. Watermelon Man
2. Three Bags Full
3. Empty Pockets
4. The Maze
5. Driftin´
6. Alone and I

At age 21, Herbie Hancock was already a mature and well-travelled musician. He played Mozart with the Chicago Symphony at  

age 11 and by age 20 with Donald Byrd. “Takin´ off”, his Blue Note debut, is a sophisticated showcase of Hancock's ability as a  

group leader. When he is not striking off the funky, swinging solos, the backing chords are restrained and unassuming. He is controlling  

the session and confident enough to let his soloists, Freddie Hubbard on the trumpet and Dexter Gordon on the tenor sax,  

take the spotlight. This is a great first album that foreshadows the greatness that would follow on this blue Note  

masterworks, “Empyrean Isles” and “Maiden Voyage”.  


SRP: € 29,90  


Last update 17.05.2018

e-[di'zain] xhtml css
© 2018 Pro-Ject Audio Systems